Transferring an existing domain name entails changing the registrar company that handles the domain name registration service, so after the transfer, you will have to manage things like renewal payments or DNS entry modifications through the new registrar. The transfer procedure itself is standard with most gTLD and ccTLD extensions. Certain country-code extensions are more specific and involve different procedures, but in the general case transferring a domain involves a few basic procedures and one of them is unlocking the domain name. The domain lock is a safety option, which is being embraced by more and more domain name registry organizations. It is a default feature supported by all generic TLDs. If a domain is locked, it will not be possible to start a transfer procedure, so no one can even attempt to steal your domain name. The lock can be annulled only through the account where the domain name is registered and all new domain names that support this option are locked by default when they are registered.

Registrar Lock in Shared Hosting

With a shared plan from us, you’ll exercise complete command over your domain names through our custom-built Hepsia Control Panel. You will be able to do anything you’d like, including locking and unlocking any of the domain names registered through our company, as long as the particular domain name extension supports this option. Clicking on the padlock icon that you’ll find next to any domain name registered in your Control Panel will show you its current status and clicking it for the second time will allow you to edit that status. In case you want to transfer a domain to another registrar company, you can initiate the process instantaneously. Since unlocking a domain name through your Control Panel will take effect immediately, no propagation period or any action on our end will be required. Locking a domain is just as easy – you will just have to go through the exact same steps.